Love Dallas, Love the World (1st Post)

untitled-1-copy1

It’s almost awkward for me to think that I am actually posting a blog…Facebook Statuses & Tweeting take little to no effort for me to think about what to say. I think I’ve typed and backspaced about 14 times before coming up to this random 1st blog entry. But after tapping on the keys without typing one word, (you know you do it too), I finally figured out what to say. I don’t think I have the chops to write a blog that people would flock to and read.  But I do know that documenting this first ever blog would be cool to look back at a few months from now.

I titled this post, “Love Dallas, Love the World”. This is in regards to everything that happened tonight at our young adult bible study called Seven. Let me preface this post first by giving you a small background lesson on how I got here. If you don’t know me and you are reading this post randomly, I attend Gateway Church in Southlake, Texas. In the Evangelical world, most people would call Gateway a “Mega Church”. Growing up and being part of a “bible believing” and significantly “smaller” size church, it was embedded in my head that all mega-churches were about “entertaining the crowd” as the people “entertained the church’s pocket book.” I started to believe this statement the first time I went to a mega-church in the area (Not Gateway). Christian and I were the only ones in our section to have their bibles, and the pastor decided to literally break dance on stage while barely using scripture during the actual “message.”  It was an uneasy feeling to say the least. Our first encounter/impression with Gateway Church changed our views rather quickly. We entered the doors wanting to see the worship team and to “hear” good music, but Christian and I left the church hearing the Lord speak to us, “This is your new home.” 7 months later, we are still here and loving every minute of it!!

Our Young Adults Pastor, Preston Morrison, had an incredible message tonight about fasting from ourselves and how to find joy from it. Without sounding like I’m quoting his message verbatim, I would encourage anybody who was not there go podcast it right now…

His message reminded me of a passage in Acts 4 where John and Peter were preaching the gospel and are seized by the high priest and elders. They started drilling Peter and John with questions and asking them “By what power or what name did you do this?” Peter speaks up and preaches directly to them and ends his answer with a popular verse that a lot of us know already, “Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to men by which we must be saved.” I guess my point of this post all falls back on the following verse. Acts 4:13 says, “When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus.” I long to be that type of person. A believer who can have just one encounter with someone and they immediately know, that I’ve been with Jesus. I hope the next 21 days, I will find the needs of others and help them meet their needs in whatever way that I can.

If you do attend seven at Gateway, and you need some help finding out how to serve others, go to Craigslist. No, not to buy, sell or trade, but to find peoples needs and help them out. If you didn’t know there is a tab just for volunteers. Small groups of people or organzations post the needs they have that they are unable to get them done by themselves. People who just need the lawn mowed, or “shut-ins” who just need a bag of groceries. It’s time to act on what we hear. To love God, and Love people.

2 Comments

Filed under Spoken Word

2 responses to “Love Dallas, Love the World (1st Post)

  1. Nice job, James!

    Looking forward to reading more 🙂

    And speaking of ‘chops to write a blog that people would flock to’……I think you’re off to a good start 🙂

  2. i love love love seven.. ill keep checking in on your blog:)

Leave a Reply

