God’s Calling is Definite & Certain

I’m typing this fast, so if there are mistakes, my apologies…

2146593268_a980ab54c4

Listening to Preston’s message last night revealed a lot of new things and shined a new perspective light on other things in my life. He said two things that struck a cord with me: “Even the healthiest trees can die in unhealthy places…,” & “God won’t ever take your gift away, but that doesn’t mean you won’t give it away” Within those two quotes, I began to evaluate how many times I have been in compromise-able situations/places in my life that I “gave” my blessings of life away. Thank the Lord for His grace and His mercy to re-direct me on the path that has been intended for me.

With Preston’s message last night, it reminded me of the story of Abraham in the bible. I dunno how many countless times I have read his story but I came across some old notes that I had and I want to shed some “new light” on his story even more.

I was always baffled about how God tested Abraham with the sacrificing of his son Isaac, but even more amazed on how Abraham trusted God to provide. I dunno about your life, but in my past experiences, it was sometimes difficult to discern what God’s calling was for my life at that present time. I needed to filter out my desires with prayer, but even then I tended to say, “I feel an impression on my heart to…(fill in the blank here)” That’s when God showed me the story of Abraham.

In his story, I love how God “reveals” His test on Abraham. “Some time later God tested Abraham. He said to him, “Abraham!”  “Here I am,” he replied. ” – – Genesis 22:1 (Side note, how many blessings would you receive if you could answer like Abraham did..”Here I am”.)

Vs 2, “Then God said, “Take your son, your only son, Isaac, whom you love, and go to the region of Moriah. Sacrifice him there as a burnt offering on one of the mountains I will tell you about.” I love how the Word sets up this story because if I was Abraham, I would  make sure I had not one doubt in my mind on what God is instructing me to do. Especially if it involves this particular task….Wouldn’t you? God made sure Abraham knew exactly who & what He was talking about.. “Take your son,” Just in case you don’t know who this is Abraham, “Your only son,” (Reminder!! Ishmael was not the son I attended for you), “Whom you love…” What a definite & Certain calling that was on Abraham’s life. God left no doubt in Abraham’s mind, but the story does not stop there.

I believe if God has called you into something, he expects You to do it & not pawn it off to someone else. He equips you not someone else to carry out the task for you. I love how Abraham understands this situation. “Early the next morning Abraham got up and saddled his donkey. He took with him two of his servants and his son Isaac. When he had cut enough wood for the burnt offering, he set out for the place God had told him about. 4 On the third day Abraham looked up and saw the place in the distance. 5 He said to his servants, “Stay here with the donkey while I and the boy go over there. We will worship and then we will come back to you.” – – Gen 22:3-5

In seminary, we were taught the climax of this particular passage was in verse 5 when Abraham mentions that, “we will come back to you.” Although it shows true faith that God will be his Jireh, I submit that the climax of this story happens in verse 3. Abraham was a prince. He had many servants, it even mentions that he grabs two servants to head to mountain. But the thing that screams out to me the most is that Abraham, the prince, decided to Cut His Own wood. Abraham knew that this was God’s calling on his life and not anybody else’s. He knew that he needed to make the sacrifice and that he had to prepare for it himself..not his servants.

How many times have we ignored God’s calling in our life? Scratch that, better question…How many times have we pawned, (or ignored) it off to someone else that we think is, “more equipped” or even worse, “we just don’t want to do it”? In Preston’s message last night, it made me think how we completely perverse the callings on our life with things of this world. I hope we can look past our lives and live by faith and not by sight.


Love God, Love People

1 Comment

Filed under Spoken Word

One response to “God’s Calling is Definite & Certain

  1. You look at Abraham’s test and proclamation that the Lord Provides to Lord’s provision of mana, water and fowl to His children to Lord’s provision of fowl, water and “angel food” cake all flows and focuses on one thing that Jesus said:

    Matthew 6:11 (ESV) Give us this day our daily bread

    Does it really matter what God has called us to do, no matter how great or how small we think it is? It is by His grace that we are able to do His will. He is the one who strengthens us and equips.

    All we gotta go is do. You don’t get to sit on your rear and wait for God’s gifts. You go do and at the moment when you need it, He will equip you.

    Like Jesus said, echoing a prayer from Solomon, give me the courage, the strength and the grace to make it to bed tonight. If I am able to make it to bed and get up the next morning, I will come to You all over again.

Leave a Reply

